bookfession {no. 1}

“I always buy another book, when I still have ten to read…”

It’s been such a long time since I posted about reading and books, that I thought I should catch everyone up on the print I’ve been diving into lately. I was lucky enough to have Santa bring me a lovely slew of titles over Christmas and I just happened to grab a few more myself, just in case. Then there are the books that friends have lent me as recommendations. If you didn’t already guess, the pile is pretty big now and because I’m back at Uni again, it will be super slow going. So without further ado, here is my current reading list:

bookfession-1

cover images via Booktopia

 

1. The Dovekeepers, by Alice Hoffman
I picked up this Alice Hoffman treasure while I was on holiday down in Phillip Island this January. I’ve read and enjoyed one of Alice’s other novels… her 1996 novel Practical Magic, which was adapted for a 1998 film of the same name, so I was excited to see this one on the shelf. I’ll admit that I’m sometimes guilty of judging a book by its cover, I really can’t help it. I’m drawn to interesting fonts and beautiful imagery and this particular cover drew me in. With the dreamy photograph of a woman in white, her long waves of hair and the doves I was immediately enticed. The Dovekeepers tells the story of four women and their life paths leading to the Masada massacre of 70 CE.

*Excited to add that the US broadcaster CBS has produced a mini-series of this book. Check out the teaser trailer here!

2. The Maze Runner – book #1, by James Dashner
Unfortunately for The Maze Runner, I got two-thirds of the way through it when the movie came out. I have to say {and I apologise to those like my son Noah who are big James Dashner fans} I didn’t really enjoy it and now I’m struggling to find the inspiration to go back to the book and finish it off. The book, so far, is definitely better than the movie and because of that I’ve left it on my current reading list. I don’t like to give up on books, but it won’t be the one I reach for next.

3. Year of Wonders, by Geraldine Brooks
Year of Wonders was a recommendation from a friend and from her review and the synopsis I read online, I thought it sounded really interesting. Just like The Maze Runner, I managed to plow about two-thirds of the way through and found it really, really dry. It is set in the 17th century, in a small town 100 miles outside of London, called Eyam (pronounced ee-am). The heroine is young widow, Anna Frith and Year of Wonders tells the story of how she and her fellow villagers fared during a year long outbreak of plague. When I started this bookfession, I had just about given up on finishing it, but am now pleased to say that I did get there in the end and I actually enjoyed the almost universally, unpopular ending… my review is here on Goodreads.

4. Fangirl, by Rainbow Rowell
This was my recent train-reading fodder with it’s very light-hearted, amazingly dialogued style. I find I can fully relate to the nerdy heroine Cath who has a slight crush on the two leading characters in her favourite fantasy novels {sort of Harry Potter style books*} as well as on a cute classmate. I like that the story is super easy to read and I don’t have to think too hard or concentrate too much on any over-stuffed verbiage. Very handy as Bendigo is a bit of a hike from home and a girl gets a little sleepy on her way to uni sometimes! Fangirl is a lovely read which is very relatable, enjoyable and fun. I highly recommend it… and in true fangirl fashion, have pinned some lovely quotes and things for your enjoyment up on my Pinterest board “geek“.

*Very excited to add that as it turns out, Ms Rowell is going to actually write these Simon Snow and Tyrannus Basildon Pitch {aka Simon and Baz} books as a stand alone series!!!

5. Pippi Longstocking, by Astrid Lindgren
I’m currently reading Pippi to my six-year-old daughter on and off as a bedtime story. I have a bit of a love-hate relationship with Pippi. While I love the illustrations in this version of the book, by the fabulous Lauren Child {of Charlie and Lola fame} and I applaud the oddball, strong female character, there are a lot of strange themes in this story that I just can’t wrap my head around. I love that Pippi’s friends include some neighbourhood children {one with the same name as my SIL who was named for the character}, a monkey and a horse, but I don’t like her sometimes blatant disregard for safe and respectful behaviour… maybe I’m just too north of ten to appreciate her, or maybe I’m not quite Swedish enough to understand the humour?

6. The Bees, by Laline Paull
I recently devoured this book that was given to me by a fellow bookworm and friend. I really loved it… here is my review from Goodreads:

“An amazing glimpse into a rich, fantasy world where the characters are all bees. A society where everything is strictly controlled by the powerful… every member of the hive has a place and is expected to behave accordingly. All but one bee, Flora 717 who becomes our heroine because she is different. An underdog, a bit of a rebel and most definitely a survivor.”

I also loved the Goodreads synopsis, “The Handmaid’s Tale meets The Hunger Games”.

And here are just a few more titles that are patiently waiting for my attention:

  • Time and Time Again, Ben Elton
  • This Shattered World, Amie Kaufman
  • A Trail of Fire, Diana Gabaldon
  • The Warlock, Michael Scott
  • The Bane Chronicles, Cassandra Clare
  • The Narrow Road to the Deep North, Richard Flanagan
  • Eleanor & Park, Rainbow Rowell
  • Life in a Jar, Jack Mayer

 

 

